PENNSYLVANIA FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDER TASK FORCE   (FASD)

CONTACT EMAIL ADDRESS:  RA-PWFASDTASKFORCE@pa.gov

             PA FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDER (FASD) TASK FORCE             EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

 

 

TASK FORCE MEMBERS

 

 

PA FASD TASK FORCE COMMITTEES 

 

 

PUBLIC AWARENESS / MARKETING COMMITTEE

Grace Kindt - Chair sakindt@pa.gov
Jill Santiago - Chair santiagoj@upmc.edu
Doris Gasgot - State Support dgascot@pa.gov
Dianna Brocious pasocdianna@gmail.com
Trish Johnson c-pjohnson@pa.gov
Tom Stark tstark@pacounties.org
Lea Moyer lmoyer@diakon-swan.org

 

 

STRATEGIC INITIATIVES COMMITTEE

Dianna Brocious - Chair pasocdianna@gmail.com
Lyn Becker - Chair clyn.becker@gmail.com
Vacant -State Support  
Lea Moyer lmoyer@diakon-swan.org
   
Katie Yost

kyost@thearcpa.org

Scott Talley

stalley@pa.gov

Kim Pape

kpape@swsix.com

Jill Stemple

jistemple@pa.gov

Robena Spangler

robenaspangle@pa.gov

Shannon Fagan SFagan@pattanpgh.net
Marlinda Smith marlsmith@pa.gov
Jim Sharp jsharp@paproviders.org

 

 

TRAINING COMMITTEE

Trish Johnson - State Support c-pjohnson@pa.gov    
Lea Moyer lmoyer@diakon-swan.org
Karen Plowman kplowman@gaudenzia.org
Mary Culshaw culshawm@moravian.edu
Barb Davis bd@theadvocacyalliance.org
Robin VanEerden    Chair

robin.vaneerden@merakey.org

 

 

PENNSYLVANIA FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDER (FASD) TASK FORCE

The Pennsylvania Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) Task Force is a multidisciplinary, diverse group of individuals whose goal is to develop a system of care for (a) the prevention of FASD and (b) the diagnosis and treatment of individuals who are born with an FASD and support for their families.   The Task Force consists of state employees, physicians with an interest in FASD, family members of individuals with an FASD, community providers’ staff with skills to serve individuals with an FASD, and advocacy organizations.

Initially, the Task Force was appointed to the Department of Drug and Alcohol Services with a focus on prevention.  In 2017, the work was expanded to include diagnosis and treatment of children, adolescents, and adults who were born with the disorder and providing a key intervention of family education and support.  This required moving the Task Force to the Department of Human Services which oversaw many of the services that are needed by people with FASD, including the Office of Developmental Programs, the Office of Child Development and Early Learning which includes an Early Learning and Early Intervention, and the Office of Medical Assistance Programs.

In 2019, the Task Force hopes to achieve the following five steps in developing a system of care:

  • establishing screening and assessment tools to use to identify individuals at risk for having an FASD,
  • beginning to develop the capacity for a full evaluation by physicians who are trained to diagnose FASD  and
  • recommend/manage the patients’ care,
  • establishing a menu of evidence-based services which could be used with individuals who are diagnosed with an FASD beginning to develop the capacity of service providers who are competent to provide the evidence-based services on the menu,
  • establishing diagnostic and treatment code eligibility for Medical Assistance for those individuals who otherwise qualify financially.

Once these systems of care aspects have been reached as needed, the Task Force will launch pilots testing them.   Outcomes will be evaluated and the process will be improved.  This quality improvement process will continue with the hope of eventually expanding to additional sites and finally statewide.

An additional aspect of developing a system of care in 2019 is:

  • developing a multi-faceted system of prevention to keep pregnant women from drinking alcohol.

The Task Force welcomes new members at any time, especially parents/family members and other caregivers of individuals who have an FASD. 

Email for Task Force is RA-PWFASDTASKFORCE@pa.gov.